Friendship Story Time

For my second official story time, I chose a friendship theme since school is just starting up again. We started out, as usual, with my opening song:

If You Want To Hear a Story
(to the tune of “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)
If you want to hear a story, clap your hands.
If you want to hear a story, clap your hands.
If you want to hear a story, if you want to hear a story, if you want to hear a story, clap your hands.

(Other verses include “zip your lips,” “sit so still,” “nod your head,” etc.)
Found at A Library Geek.

Then, we read our first book–You Will Be My Friend by Peter Brown

This book wasn’t a huge hit, though the kids did have a few favorite parts, particularly when Lucille gave the skunk a bath to be helpful and when she dressed up like a kangaroo. I chose to shorten the book for all my age groups because it does get a bit long and repetitive.

By the time we finished You Will Be My Friend, it was time for another song:

The More We Get Together
The more we get together, together, together,
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be
‘Cause your friends are my friends, and my friends are your friends.
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be.

Then, we moved on to our flannel for the day. I chose to do a “Friends Match” Flannel.
 photo 20140815_212517.jpg
I just printed out pictures of some popular children’s characters, laminated them, and backed them with felt. Then, I had the kids match them with the right friend. I’d put Ariel on the board and ask if she was friends with The Man in the Yellow Hat or Tigger, the kids would giggle and say “No,” then I’d ask if she was friends with Ernie, and they’d start shouting out that she was friends with Flounder. They seemed to really enjoy correcting my mistakes and clearing up my apparent confusion over who was friends with whom. I originally found this idea on Storytime Katie’s blog (one of my favorites) along with my idea for the craft below.

Then, we sang our first action song.

Friend of Mine
(to the tune of “Mary Had a Little Lamb”)
Will you be a friend of mine, friend of mine, friend of mine?
Will you be a friend of mine and (insert action word) with me?
(i.e. “jump around,” “clap real loud,” “dance around,” “hop on one foot,” “jog in place,” “sit on down,” etc.)

Found at Perfectly Preschool

After we had settled down, we read Two Bunny Buddies by Kathryn O. Galbraith

This is a short book about what happens when friends get in a fight. It turned out to just be an okay choice. It wasn’t spectacular, but the kids did seem to like it well enough. They seemed confused that rabbits eat more than just carrots, though.

Then, we went right into the popular Scout song.

Make New Friends
Make new friends, but keep the old.
One is silver, and the other’s gold.
A circle is round. It has no end.
That’s how long I will be your friend.

By this point, it was time to let out some energy, so we jumped back up so we could…

Shake Your Sillies Out
I’ve gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

I’ve gotta clap, clap, clap my crazies out,
Clap, clap, clap my crazies out,
Clap, clap, clap my crazies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

I’ve gotta jump, jump, jump my jiggles out,
Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out,
Jump, jump, jump my jiggles out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

I’ve gotta yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out,
Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out,
Yawn, yawn, yawn my sleepies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

I’ve gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away,
And wiggle my waggles away!

by Raffi

After that, we read our final book–Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

I tend to like Mo Willems’ books personally. However, I don’t use many of them for story times because they are often very sarcastic and go over my 2-5 year olds’ heads. This one, however, was suited to my age group. They seemed to like the character of Sam, especially when he had his little break-down near the end.

Then, we had to sing Skinnamarink by Felix F. Feist because it’s always been one of their favorites. It was pretty adorable when they decided to change it up and run and give me a group hug when we got to the “I love you” part instead of doing the normal actions. They even ran up and hugged me, then sat back down to sing the rest of the verse. Then, when we got back to the “I love you” part, they ran up again for another group hug, and so on.

Skinnamarink
Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

I love you in the morning,
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening,
Underneath the moon…

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!

Then, it was time for my usual closing song:

Goodbye, Goodbye
(to the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”
Goodbye, goodbye, time to go.
I had lots of fun, you know.
I’ll come back another day.
I’ll come back to read and play.

For my walk-in story time, we made our best friends out of paper I’d cut out beforehand in a variety of skin tone colors. They added clothes made of tissue paper and hair made of yarn, drew their faces, and gave them names. We had friends of every kind from a sister (like my example) to a teacher, and one of my regulars even made Elsa from Frozen for their best friend. It was simple, the kids could do it mostly on their own, and it didn’t require a lot of prep or clean-up.
 photo 20140724_170746.jpg

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

