Family Feud

My teens love game show programs as we saw with my Minute to Win It program. We’ve done Jeopardy at my branch in the past, so I wanted to find a new game show to do to keep interest up (and because I was personally a little burned out on Jeopardy). When I brought up the idea of Family Feud, there was a lot of excitement, so I went for it. It was a very easy and very cheap program. I just spent about $5 on snacks and drinks from the dollar store and about $5 on prizes (which weren’t even necessary since we don’t typically give out prizes to winners at competition programs; instead they usually “win” the thrill of victory).

For this program, I found a pre-made Family Feud Powerpoint here. I used the first one, but I’ll tell you now that it’s a bit difficult. You have to follow their instructions precisely on the site, and you can’t edit it to have more or fewer answers than are already displayed. So, you have to make sure you’re using questions with the same number of answers when you plug in your own. In addition, there’s a bit of a glitch where it will show all the answers for a split second when you go to a new round before covering them up. I had to get a bit creative here and made signs that everyone had to put up in front of their faces whenever I switched slides. It can be a bit glitchy on some computers too, so make sure to test it on the computer you’ll be using. Other than that, however, it worked great! It looked very realistic, and everyone loved the music and animation.

For my questions, I did not go out and poll 100 people. There are a couple of sites who have already done this, and I just used the questions and answers I thought my teens would be more likely to know (and which were appropriate) to plug into my Powerpoint. Here’s one site, and here’s another.

Overall, it was a very popular program with one of my highest turnouts ever!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

