Space Story Time

We started off, as usual, with our opening song — “If You Want to Hear a Story,” I explained the theme, and we started with our first book — The Three Little Aliens and the Big Bad Robot by Margaret McNamara

This is an incredibly cute twist on the Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Wolf. I enjoyed incorporating a little science and testing my kids’ knowledge of the solar system too. They thought it was pretty cute, but it is a little long for younger audiences. I cut this book out of my two year old story time.

Then, we sang the “We’re Flying” Action Song from Preschool Education.
(To the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”)
“We’re flying to the moon.
We’re flying to the moon.
Blast off, away we go.
We’re flying to the moon.

Other verses:
We’re walking out in space…
We’re landing on the moon…
We’re flying back o Earth…”

After that, we read Green Wilma, Frog in Space by Tedd Arnold

This book was surprisingly confusing for some of my classes who didn’t understand the difference between the alien and the frog, but the classes who did understand liked it. I guess it should be used for four years and up.

Next, we sang “If You’re Going to the Moon, Wear Your Boots” originally from KCLS.
(To the tune of “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)
“If you’re going to the moon, wear your boots,
(stomp, stomp)
If you’re going to the moon, wear your boots,
(stomp, stomp)
If you’re going to the moon, this is what you have to do,
If you’re going to the moon, wear your boots,
(stomp, stomp)

Additional Verses: If you’re going to the moon, wear your gloves (clap, clap)…
If you’re going to the moon, wear your helmet (pat, pat)…”

While we were standing, we also sang “I’m a Little Rocket” originally found at KCLS.
(To the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)
“I’m a little rocket, pointing at the moon
Raise arms above head
Now I’m getting fueled up,
We’ll be ready soon
Stand up straight and tall
When it’s time to board me, then I’ll say
Slowly bend down and crouch, arms above head
Blast off! Zoom! We’re on our way.
Jump up and shout”

I originally found the idea for my “Five Little Men in a Flying Saucer” flannel from Storytime Katie.
 photo f2878c83-36bd-4dcd-89d2-1ce29adb5fa0.jpg
“Five little men in a flying saucer
Looked around the world one day
They looked left and looked right
But they didn’t like the sight
So one man flew away

Four little men in a flying saucer…(count down).”

There isn’t really a pattern for this flannel, so I just had to draw it all by hand to create my own, but I think it turned out well. It was my first real adventure in making a flannel without a pattern.

Our last book was Little Rocket’s Special Star by Julia Sykes

This was a cute little book that all my classes enjoyed. It’s short, sweet, and has sparkly pictures; so, everyone wins!

Then, we did the “Twinkling Stars” fingerplay from the Perry Public Library.
“At night I see twinkling stars (wiggle fingers)
And a great big shining moon (arms overhead in circle)
My mama tucks me into bed (fists under chin)
As she sings this goodnight tune…”

That fingerplay transitioned us nicely into singing “Twinkle, Twinkle.”

As we sang “Twinkle, Twinkle,” I handed out stars I’d made of yellow construction paper to every child. Then, we played and sang”Catch a Falling Star” and danced with our stars.

Catch a falling star (reach up high with your star)
And put it in your pocket (bring it to your pocket — hands on thighs)
Never let it fade away (shake finger “no”)
Catch a falling star (reach up high with your star)
And put it in your pocket (bring it to your pocket — hands on thighs)
Save it for a rainy day (hold star to chest with both hands)

Then, we twirled around on the verses.

After that, we sang our “Goodbye, Goodbye” song, and that was the end.

This week, for walk-in, we made rocket ships out of cardstock, construction paper, aluminum covered (cardstock) circles, and cotton balls.
 photo ede90e1c-ed7b-4d5f-a77f-440beb3ed876.jpg

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

